This blog does not reflect the position of the U.S. Government or Peace Corps. The experiences and thoughts are mine personally.

Friday, December 13, 2013

sights to see part 1

Some days I wish I had a camera in attached to my glasses. I see things no one or at least no one in America would believe.
Some days on my way to Deborah’s house I see a group of people watching a bulldozer or some other type of construction equipment digging dirt and moving it. Yes, people were watching it like it was a sport.
Then other days, I’m walking down another street or alley however you look at it. There is this truck which I’m assuming was picking up empty beer bottles. On the other side of the truck lie hundreds of full beer bottles, literally lying in the street. I think some of the bottles were going in rice bags, but I’m not sure, it was interesting site. I thought about getting my camera out and taking a picture, but I didn’t want to draw attention, I already I get enough attention.
On November 5, 2013, I was at school when I looked over toward the compound gate and saw a group of cow and ox walking in. It was an old site. I’ve see sheep on campus before but never cow or ox. Let’s just say I tried to take a picture, but as I was getting out my camera, someone was guiding them out.
Walking to a friend’s office, I see crates upon crates of beer waiting to be up away. All the crates sit on the side of the road waiting to be put away.
The number of cows, sheep, goats, and ox that roam the street and not to mention the horses is unbelievable. They all look unhealthy and all I want/wish to do id feed them all until they look healthy.
The way to change a tire in this country is fascinating. Recently on December 6, I was on my way back to Injibara from Bahir Dar, when the minibus needed two new tires. It’s not like America were we replace the whole thing, no here they take the tire off and take the hubcap/center off the old tire and put it on a new tire. Needless to say it’s a site to see. Hard to explain exactly how they do it, but they do.
On Thursday, December 12 I was walking to my favorite coffee house to meet up with some friends when I looked up and saw a man in a military uniform with a gun. Then I noticed the other man with a gun, not a hand gun either. Once I realized these men were doing something important I noticed who they were walking with. There were four men and two they were handcuffed together. So I immediately remember a discussion during PST when someone said that prisoners get let out for the day. Yes, this scared me during the discussion until someone said the ones who are allowed aren’t the ones who commit murder or rape, they have less time and their crime wasn’t horrible or something like that. It was just one of those times I wished I wasn’t so scared to pull my camera out and take a picture.  

Again, December 12th, today was a local holiday or festival I’m not sure which. It’s called Bata, named after the church. I met up with my friend Muluken, Deborah was suppose to come, but she had class. So Muluken, his friend and I set out on this little adventure. First, headed out of town towards his relatives house, were we ate and were offered tela (the local beer, I have yet to try it but it looks nasty). After about 20 minutes or so we headed off further into the country. I thought we’d never make it. Finally we get to an open field where a bunch of people are already waiting, by this time it’s like 1:00. So I’m thinking the festival will start shortly. We sit down and within 15 minutes there are like 20 or so kids lying in front of me for no reason except that I’m white and they are curious. I’m tired of being stared at but I’m also tired of telling people to go away or stop staring. I could have started an English club right then and there. Finally, Muluken’s like “it’s starting, let’s go.” So we move to watch this event. It’s interesting to say the least. Not something I’ve ever seen the in the States. Men on horses’ race and fight, one man have a shield while another man has two spear like sticks. So this lasts for like half an hour. I got some good photos, well decent photos. Everyone wants to be front and center for this event, so it was hard to get great photos. Another site to see…luckily I’ll have pictures posted sometime. 

Thursday, December 5, 2013

5 MONTHS!!!!!!!

1st week of December
Wow, 5 months in country! That’s crazy!!!! I know it’s been awhile since I’ve updated on anything that happening in my town of Injibara. I really haven’t been doing much, going to school almost 5 days a week for a few hours (2-4). I haven’t started doing anything in the school, but I go and show my face. It’s nice when a teacher or student walks into my office or says hi to me as I walk on campus.
I did move houses, not sure if I mentioned that in my last post or even when my last post was. I’m still getting settled in. I don’t have any furniture to sit on in my main room. So for now I sit on my yoga mat and do all my work. It’s not ideal, but it works for now. Now that I have a house I like and feel comfortable in, I spend a great deal of time at home. Within the first couple of days of living on this compound, I was invited to coffee three times, once at another renter’s home. The compound family is nice and the renters are nice. So far I have only met two, but there is a third room, but I never see anyone coming in or out of it. The gentleman to the left of me (or between me and the shint-bet) seems nice, I’ve only had short conversations with him, he does speak decent English, so I could potentially have a good conversation with him. The female tenant is a teacher (at I’m not sure which school, the same school as my landlady), she teaches Amharic. My landlady is a geography teacher. The landlord works in for the administration. There are two children, Samuel who is 4 and Eldona who is 8 months.
Sammy comes in my room all the time. I laid out crayons and paper hoping to get him to write and draw, but it took over a week for him to do that. He likes to run in and run out. He laughs all the time and is a ball full of energy, just like any 4 year old. I try to watch movies with him, but he isn’t interested. He likes to draw and sort of write his ABC’s. We are working on those. He attends KG, which is like kindergarten and pre-school, so he is learning. If there is anything lying around with letters, he tells me the letters, he knows them very well. I don’t see the baby much; she’s normally on either her moms back or the worker girls back. Which reminds me, I forgot to mention her, the worker girl. She is really nice, the first week I was here and the water came on she got water and carried my buckets for me to my house, it’s not a long way, but it was very nice of her.
Last Saturday a few of us G9ers (like 6) got together and celebrated Thanksgiving. We had chicken, mashed potatoes, coleslaw, pumpkin soup, rice, pineapple salsa with carrots, bread, wine, and yellow cake. It was a nice afternoon with great company.
I’ve been having Amharic tutoring, but I don’t know if it’s helping. I get frustrated. My tutor was teaching me something that I had to clue what it was, a different way to say verbs, like a command, but PC didn’t teach us that way. So I got frustrated and explained I had no idea what he was saying. Also tutoring is at night from 6-8pm and then I miss dinner or eat at like 8:30, so that makes me grumpy. I told my friend and my tutor I needed to find someone who could work with me during the day time, I have lots of free time during the day, but at night not so much. So hopefully I can find someone, maybe a high school or college teacher, who can work with me during the day time. I speak to a lot of people who speak a little English, but I do get frustrated sometimes when I don’t know what someone is saying. Language does not come easy for me. It is my biggest struggle most days.
Harassment has gotten better, ever since PC came and gave a little speech at my school. I now get “Chaye, Chaye” instead of “frenji, frenji” or “you, you”. Occasionally there is still that, but overall the kids have gotten better. There are still days I don’t want to travel a certain way because I know there may or may not be someone who says something and there are days were all I want to do is stay in my compound or close by because everyone knows me. I think that’s a PC thing though, to have days were all you want to do is stay in your house all day.
Well, I guess that’s a quick or not so quick update on me. I know holiday season will be rough, seeing how Black Friday was rough for me, all I wanted to do was cry and I’m not sure why. I plan to spend Christmas and New Years with other PCVs so it shouldn’t be too bad. Then I’ll spend 2 weeks in Addis Ababa in January. So there’s plenty to look forward to or at least hope to look forward to!

Until next time, love and miss y’all!!!