This weekend was fun. I learned a lot about
Ethiopian life. In language on Saturday (July 27th), my teacher gave
us homework to learn how to make buna (coffee). So I had to learn, which I
already told my sisters I wanted to learn this weekend anyway. After lunch on
Saturday, I was able to see the kitchen (where everything is cooked at least)
it’s nothing you would expect being Americans. While watching Mekides started
making Injera (I know you don’t know what it is, but it’s complicated). She and
my sister Tsiyon then asked if I wanted to try. I did and it was harder than it
looked. Mekides just poured the mix over the stove in a circle and made it look
easy. I however made an oval shaped Injera, but I was told by everyone it
wasn’t bad for my first time.
On Sunday I learned to make coffee. Tsiyon taught me
from roasting the beans, to smashing in the beans, then boiling the water. We
let the water boil over a few times, but I didn’t know what I was doing, so I
wasn’t sure what to do. The process all together takes about an hour. It is
labor intense also. I only smashed the beans for maybe a minute and then Tsiyon
took over. While Tsiyon was smashing, my mom and Mekides were cleaning the
chicken parts. I’m assuming the chicken died this morning, because when I got
up, they were cutting the parts and cleaning them really good. I helped to
flavor/season the chicken I guess. I’m not sure what the process I helped with.
But I was asked if I wanted to try and I said yes. So I got my hands into the
chicken parts bucket that also had lime and onions and started mixing
everything together. It was interesting to say the least. After helping for a
minute or so I returned to my coffee making.
My oldest sister and her two children were visiting
today. She has a 2 year old and a 5 month old (I think). The 2 year old doesn’t
know what to think of me, but I think she’s finally warming up to me. Oh
another important thing happened today. I figured out the best way to
shower/bucket bathe. I’ve been taking cold showers, because my family does have
a shower; however I think that’s one of the reason I got a cold. So today, I
asked my family to boil some water and then I added that water to cold water
and took a warm bucket bath. It was actually nice, I feel like I got clean and
my hair actually looks clean!
No comments:
Post a Comment