Okay, so I had a cold last week, which I am still
getting over. However, on Friday I started having diarrhea, not really bad
twice maybe three times a day. So I finally called medical Tuesday. I didn’t
think anything of it, however my language teacher was concerned. Back track, on
Sunday network went down and didn’t come back until Tuesday morning, so I
couldn’t call in the first place. So I called medical and they told me I needed
to go to the clinic. My homestay coordinator, Almaz, said she would take me. So
during lunch Almaz came to get me to take me to the Health Center right around
the corner from my house. The doctor said I needed to give a stool sample. How
in the world was I going to give a stool sample right then right there, if I
didn’t have to go? This was my thought. Apparently the sample has to be in the
lab within 10-15 minutes to look at. So I got the necessary items (the cup) to
get the sample and returned to the clinic Wednesday morning. In the end, I have
some sort of I have no clue. The doctor who read my lab results asked me if I
drank the water without filtering it. The thing is no I always filter my water,
however the first week I was in Butajira, I didn’t use chlorine, because I
didn’t know I had to. All in all, I started a medicine Wednesday morning that I
take for 3 days, 2 pills twice a day. So I am getting over whatever GI issue I
had. Apparently the medicine has side effects such as stomach cramps and
stomach churning, which my stomach hasn’t felt the same in a little over a week
now. I hope to finally feel better within the next few days!
Practicum is going well. On Monday I taught Grade 8
and they were rude and very talkative. Tuesday I taught Grade 3 and really
enjoyed it. I had a PCVL observe me and he said I did a great job and had
amazing patience. Grade 3 is way below the level they should be in the text
book. The books are hard to work with in general. Wednesday I taught Grade 4
and the kids were talkative again. I had to be a strict and move some around
the class or I wouldn’t have been able to do my lesson. In both Grade 3 and 4,
I thought I had a really good lesson. Lesson planning is difficult and PC has a
format they use, which I in turn have to use. Thursday I taught grade 5 and
just wasn’t into it. I got frustrated half way through my lesson for no reason
at all. Friday I was getting frustrated during lesson planning time and knew I
needed to calm down and know that its practice and I can do it. It worked out
though to where I didn’t have to teach at all!
Thursday and Friday were rough for me. I was
emotional and wanted to cry several times. I think it’s because I’m still not
feeling 100% and I just wanted to curl up and pretend I was back home in my bed
watching TV. However, that is not going to happen and I need to suck it up and
get over it. I’m still feeling a bit run down and like crying at times, but I’m
managing to keep things together.
I’ve watched a few movies this week, because I
didn’t feel like socializing. My family has had cousins (or at least I think
they’re cousins) over. It’s been all males about my age and when I’m
socializing the cousins quiz me on my Amharic and then laugh because of how I
say it. The laughing doesn’t bother me; it’s the consistent staring and telling
me to talk. Apparently I am to quiet. My host dad informed me on Friday night
that I need to talk more, I am to quiet. I don’t speak enough Amharic, even to
try and practice. I turn into an introvert when I’m around new people, I know
this about myself and I am trying to be more outgoing with my family, I just
don’t always have things to say.
On Saturday, PC set up a meeting with this
organization in Agro-forestry. The organization works with the Israli and USAID
(which I can’t remember what it stands for) germinating Ethiopian agricultural
with Israli agricultural. It was interesting, but not that interesting when it
began raining. Almost the whole group was there including LCF (language
cultural facilitators) and some PC staff. I didn’t do much after that except
read.
On Sunday, I woke up early to attend church.
Saturday night my sisters asked if I wanted to go and I said sure why not. I
had to wear a head scarf which is called a nutella (spelling wrong), but you
get the point. Church was interesting. I sat outside the building with everyone
else for like 2 hours listening to the loud speaker, there were songs, prayers
and I’m not sure what else, it was in a language I couldn’t understand (which
everything is, but I think this language is different). After church, I
returned home with my sisters and cousins, oh my older sister and her 2 kids we
met at church; they came back to the house with us. We had breakfast with tea,
then 20-30 minutes later coffee (3 small cups, one day I’ll take a picture). I
did laundry, well attempted, then my mom and sisters took over. The soap I was
given by PC apparently isn’t any good. I also had to get my bed sheets to be
washed. Nothing dried on Sunday; it rained most of the day. I took a bucket
bath, which I think I’m getting better at, but I still don’t think my hair gets
clean. Then my sisters wanted to watch “Breaking Dawn part 2” so we did. My day
is pretty boring after that, just watching TV and reading.
On
Saturday I find out my site!!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment